Samsung Odyssey G9 Firmware update

tabofa
2 min readJul 17, 2021
Property of Samsung

So, I’m having issues updateing my monitor. I keep getting the same error, time after time, trying all sorts of different methods and finally I found the answer.

  1. Go to samsung.com and download the drives. This wasn’t that straight forwards, but after some clicking on a less than optimal site I found the firmware.
  2. Unzip the zip file, you should get a .img-file from it.
  3. For Windows users; Download Rufus (can be found in the windows store or at https://rufus.ie/en/ ) (This step may be overkill as pointed out by juanchavezlive, A simple formatting using Fat32 as File System is enought. I have not tested this, but I guesse it’s correct.)
    For MacOs Users; You can just use Disk Utility.app
  4. Format your USB drive using Rufus (Or just format using File Explorer), I opted for the following settings; Non bootable, MBR, BIOS/UFEI, FAT32, 8196 (Default). Start
    In MacOs, select the drive from the list to the left. Select Erase from the menu and opt for FAT, Master Boot Record.
  5. When done, copy the .img-file to the USB drive
  6. Insert the USB drive in the service port on the monitor, furthest away from the screen.
  7. Go into the settings, support and software update.
  8. Et voila, things are happening.
  9. Accept that you want the new drives. A progressbar will be displayed and the screen will restart.
  10. All done, happy upgrading!

--

--